My Wordspace

A dumpster full of various musings over life, God, scripture, and any random thought that may fly by meanwhile. Comments welcome.

Well, What The Hell?!?!

Posted by Iszi on October 19, 2004

Greetings, Readers.

So, I’m headed to church to help set-up for Tuesday night’s service, right? I miss the bus I’d meant to take, so I decide to just bike it all the way. It’s an hour-long trip by bike, which about equals the same time I’d take if I waited for the next bus. (About a half hour to wait on the bus, and another half hour in transit.)

So, I’m biking along now, minding my own business. I’m trying to stay as close to the edge of the road as I can, in order to stay out of the way of traffic coming from behind me since there is no sidewalk most of the way. This isn’t always the easiest thing to do, especially when leftover hurricane debris is factored into the equation (and yes, there still is some on the side of the road in some areas). Riding along now, trying to focus on keeping my bike in the thin strip of asphalt between the outer white line of the road border and the grass on the right, and all of a sudden – SMACK – something feeling very hard nails me in the back out of nowhere! Then, after the initial shock wears off, I start to notice it feels cold and wet as I see a Wendy’s cup flying over the shoulder that was impacted.

Now, consider that the average speed limit on this road I’m biking on is about 45 MPH, for those that follow it. Most cars going along this road typically run no slower than 60. On my bike, my average speed is about 12 MPH. So, relatively speaking, we can say that I was hit with a pretty full cup of ice and soda (and it didn’t feel light on the ice) flying at about 48 MPH. I would like to attribute the incident to a careless litterer who happened to just toss the cup out the window at the wrong time, but I’m no big target to be hit easily on accident.

So, could someone please tell me what is the frickin’ point behind doing such a thing? Why the hell would a person just want to nail some Joe Blow riding their bike on the side of the highway? Had I not been so focused on the road, or had the cup hit me in the head, I could have ended up swerving and bailing out to the side of the road (if I was lucky) while my bike flew in the other direction, wreaking havoc on the front-end of the next car to come up behind me, and likely causing them to screech to a halt, creating a road hazard that could lead to an accident involving more than just myself and the one car!

And that’s assuming I had bailed safely to the side of the road! I don’t even want to imagine what would have happened if I had completely lost control and found myself lying in the middle of the road! And the damn bastards would have gotten away with it! By the time I even thought to get a tag number in the actual course of events that happened, the car was too far out for me to even get a clear description.

So, why do people do stupid things like that? What’s it even worth to them? Is it to show that they’re better than me or something? Hell, I’d like to see the next time they intend on riding a bicycle for an hour to a church for the sole sake of slinging some couches around and throwing up some curtains.

This reminds me of another time I was on my bike a few months ago. Our car was not working at the time, and we needed diapers and toilet paper. I went to the nearest Albertson’s, and got the biggest package of diapers and biggest pack of toilet paper I could find, so I wouldn’t have to make the trip again any time soon. Each package was nearly the physical size of my own torso, albeit (thankfully) not nearly so heavy. On my way home, tail-light flashing and headlight leading the way along the sidewalk as I carefully held onto one bag on each wrist so my hands could guide the handlebars, a red pickup flew by with some doofus sticking his head out shouting some insult or another, accompanied by gratuitous maniacal laughter. I’d like to see the next time one of those guys even thinks about making such a late-night trip out to a grocery store on a bicycle for their wife and child, let alone consider taking such a cumbersome load along!

Who raises such kids that they would enjoy seeing and/or causing someone else’s hardship? How is it that society just lets these kind of people go unignored and running around rampant, pulling such drive-by pranks as these? Does no one care anymore, unless they’re the ones on the receiving end?

In short, these kind of people piss me off. Especially since there’s not a damn thing I can do about them since they’re out of sight too quickly to even consider any recourse.

– Iszi

One Response to “Well, What The Hell?!?!”

  1. butterflyuk said

    Please add my 100% BMW to this. It’s not too different here either.

Leave a Reply

 
